Quotes On My Wall

I am, excuse the phrase, a quote whore. I see a great quote, I hold on to it and find a way to put it somewhere I can see it. On my study wall I have three quotes that help keep my sanity. One is quite familiar:

Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible. – St. Francis of Assisi

One is less familiar, but the author is familiar:

If you are a pastor engaged in preaching and teaching your people, and the response hasn’t been all that great, don’t be dismayed and diverted. Say to yourself: God has ordered me to proclaim His Word, and that’s what I’ll continue to do. If it doesn’t always prosper, God knows why; if my work does thrive, it pleases both Him and me. – Martin Luther

One is arcane:

I beg you, do not look upon [this place] as a steppingstone, but rather say: Here I shall stay as long as it pleases God; if it be his will, until I die.  Look upon every child, your confirmands, every member of the congregation as if you will have to give account for every soul on the day of the Lord Jesus.  Every day commit all these human souls from the worst and weakest of hands, namely, your won, into the best and strongest of hands.  Then you will be able to carry on your ministry not only without care but also with joy overflowing and joyful hope. – Friedrich von Bodelschwingh

As we start another calendar year, these quotes stay with me, even before my eyes. I pray a blessed New Year to you, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

